MEMBERS APPOINTMENTS – 2024/25

(as at 17.12.24)

Chair of the Council Councillor Jean Hall Vice Chair of the Council Councillor Linda Tift

PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

Strategy, Performance & Finance Councillor Paul Peacock (Leader of the Council)

Heritage, Culture & the Arts Councillor Rowan Cozens (Deputy Leader of the Council)

Climate & the Environment

Sustainable Economic Development

Housing

Health, Wellbeing & Leisure

Public Protection & Community Relations

Councillor Emma Oldham

Councillor Claire Penny

Councillor Lee Brazier

Councillor Susan Crosby

Councillor Paul Taylor

CONSERVATIVE GROUP

Leader Councillor Jack Kellas
Deputy Leader Councillor Roger Jackson

LABOUR GROUP

Leader Councillor Paul Peacock
Deputy Leader Councillor Lee Brazier

INDEPENDENTS FOR NEWARK & DISTRICT

Leader Councillor Rowan Cozens

LIBERAL DEMOCRAT GROUP

Leader Councillor Peter Harris
Deputy Leader Councillor Keith Melton

NEWARK & SHERWOOD DISTRICT INDEPENDENTS

Leader Councillor Tina Thompson

GREEN

Leader Councillor Emma Oldham

Note Paragraph 1.1 of the Constitution

1.1 Appointment and Term of Office

- 1.1.1 The Leader is elected by the Council and holds office for a four-year period starting on the day of their election as Leader at an Annual Meeting of the Council, unless their term of office as a Councillor is shorter, in which case the term of office as Leader will be the same as their term of office as a Councillor.
- 1.1.2 The Leader's period of office will cease at an earlier date if they
 - i. resign from the office; or
 - ii. are no longer a Councillor; or
 - iii. are removed from office by resolution of the Council.
- 1.1.3 If there is a vacancy in the position of Leader, the Council will elect a Leader at the first meeting following such vacancy.

MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

		POLICY & PE	RFORMANCE IMPROVE	MENT COMMITTEE						
CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	INDEPENDENTS FOR NEWARK & DISTRICT	LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	N&S INDS	GREEN	IND - NON-ALIGNED				
1. N. Allen	1. A. Brazier	1. S. Forde	1. K. Roberts	1.T. Thompson	1. M. Spoors	1. R. Holloway				
2. R. Jackson	2. C. Brooks	2. D. Moore								
3. P. Rainbow	3. A. Freeman	3. N. Ross (V/C)								
4. T. Wendels	4. M. Pringle (C)									
SUBSTITUTES	SUBSTITUTES	SUBSTITUTES	SUBSTITUTES	SUBSTITUTES	SUBSTITUTES	SUBSTITUTES				
1. P. Farmer	1. L. Tift	1. J. Hall	1. P. Harris	1.D. Darby	1					
2. S. Michael	2	2								
PLANNING COMMITTEE										
CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	INDEPENDENTS FOR NEWARK & DISTRICT	LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	N&S INDS	GREEN	IND - NON-ALIGNED				
1. P. Rainbow	1. C. Brooks	1. S. Forde	1. P. Harris		1. E. Oldham	1. A. Amer				
2. S. Saddington	2. A. Freeman (C)	2. D. Moore (V/C)	2. K. Melton			2. L. Dales				
3. T. Smith	3. M. Shakeshaft									
4. T. Wildgust	4. L. Tift									
LICENSING COMMITTEE										
CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	INDEPENDENTS FOR NEWARK & DISTRICT	LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	N&S INDS	GREEN	IND - NON-ALIGNED				
1. N. Allen	1. A. Brazier	1. J. Hall (C)	1. K. Roberts	1. D. Darby	1. M. Spoors					
2. R. Jackson	2. L. Brazier	2. D. Moore								
3. S. Michael	3. P. Taylor									
4. S. Saddington	4. L. Tift (V/C)									
5. T. Wendels										
6. T. Wildgust										
GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE										
CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	INDEPENDENTS FOR NEWARK & DISTRICT	LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	N&S INDS	GREEN	IND - NON-ALIGNED				
1. N. Allen	1. A. Brazier	1. J. Hall (C)	1. K. Roberts	1. D. Darby	1. M. Spoors					
2. R. Jackson	2. L. Brazier	2. D. Moore								
3. S. Michael	3. P. Taylor									
4. S. Saddington	4. L. Tift (V/C)									
5. T. Wendels										
6. T. Wildgust										

						AFFL
		<u>AUI</u>	OIT & GOVERNANCE CO	<u>MMITTEE</u>		
CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	INDEPENDENTS FOR NEWARK & DISTRICT	LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	N&S INDS	GREEN	IND - NON-ALIGNED
1. P. Farmer	1. A. Freeman	1. R. Cozens	1. P. Harris (C)	1. T. Thompson		
2. S. Haynes	2. C. Penny	2. S. Forde (V/C)				
3. J. Kellas	3. M. Shakeshaft	3. J. Hall				
4. S. Michael						
		<u>B</u>	OARD OF GILSTRAP TRU	ISTEES^		
CONSERVATIVE	LABOUR	INDEPENDENTS FOR NEWARK & DISTRICT	LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	N&S INDS	GREEN	IND - NON-ALIGNED
1. S. Haynes	1. P. Taylor					1. A. Amer (C)
2. J. Kellas						2. I. Brown
		MANSFIELD AND	DISTRICT CREMATORIU	IM JOINT COMMITTEE#		
CABINET						
1. L. Brazier						
2. S. Crosby						
3. P. Peacock						

TENANT ENGAGEMENT BOARD

Membership to comprise of the Portfolio Holder with responsibility for housing and three representatives to be appointed by the Policy & Performance Improvement Committee (plus three tenant representatives).

PLANNING POLICY BOARD

Membership to comprise of the Portfolio Holder with responsibility for planning policy and three representatives to be appointed by the Planning Committee and three representatives to be appointed by the Policy & Performance Improvement Committee.

Notes:

- 1. C = Chair
- 2. VC = Vice-Chair
- ^ Newark Ward Members not appointed to sit on the Trustee Board as non-voting co-optees.
- # The Mansfield Crematorium Joint Committee is an Executive Function which does not need to reflect political balance and will comprise of Executive Members.